Naturally Mama.

From one natural mama to another…

So THAT’S What Boobies Are For! November 26, 2010

Filed under: Breastfeeding — Naturally Mama @ 6:55 am
Tags: , ,

Image Credit

I was at my sister’s house the other day and I breastfed my son in front of my 2 year old and 7 year old nieces. When my son latched on, my 2 year old niece curiously came over to see what I was doing. I explained to her that’s how babies eat and that there’s Mama milk in there. She was definitely intrigued. She kept coming back over  to us to assess the situation. Then My 7 year old niece chimed in by saying “So THAT’S what boobies are for! I’m gonna go tell my Daddy!” and she ran to tell him the news 😀

The only way for the world to see that breastfeeding is normal and natural, is for the world to SEE that breastfeeding is normal and natural. Breastfeeding has been turned into something shameful and taboo and the only way to change that is to show people it’s not. It’s no shameful, taboo, gross or sexual. Although magazines and television depict breasts as a highly sexualized body part and most of society has come to agreement with that view, the number one function of breasts before all else is nourishing a baby and sustaining life.

Every time a Mama breastfeeds in front of someone she knows who isn’t usually exposed to it, every time she breastfeeds in public and every time she educates others and stands up for her right to nurse her baby when her baby is hungry, she shows the current generation normalcy and helps to shape the next generation into something wonderful.

Here’s to you, Mamas who nurse in whenever, wherever. You’re changing the world.

 

 

Leave a Reply

